31 March - 9 April 2018
  • Fabiano Caruana
    Fabiano Caruana

    Name: Fabiano Caruana
    Age: 25
    Country: USA
    World ranking: No. 7

  • Maxime Vachier-Lagrave
    Maxime Vachier-Lagrave

    Name: Maxime Vachier-Lagrave
    Age: 27
    Country: France
    World ranking: No. 6

  • Nikita Vitiugov
    Nikita Vitiugov

    Name: Nikita Vitiugov
    Age: 31
    Country: Russland
    World ranking No. 26

  • Arkadij Naiditsch
    Arkadij Naiditsch

    Name: Arkadij Naiditsch
    Age: 32
    Country: Azerbaijan
    World ranking: No. 41

  • Hou Yifan
    Hou Yifan

    Name: Hou Yifan
    Age: 23
    Country: China
    World ranking: No. 96

  • Magnus Carlsen
    Magnus Carlsen

    Name: Magnus Carlsen
    Age: 27
    Country: Norway
    World ranking: No. 1

  • Levon Aronian
    Levon Aronian

    Name: Levon Aronian
    Age: 35
    Counry: Armenia
    World ranking: No. 5

  • Matthias Bluebaum
    Matthias Bluebaum

    Name: Matthias Blübaum
    Age: 20
    Country: Germany
    World ranking: Nr. 138

  • Viswanathan Anand
    Viswanathan Anand

    Name: Viswanathan Anand
    Age: 48
    Country: Indien
    World ranking: No. 9

  • Georg Meier
    Georg Meier

    Name: Georg Meier
    Age: 30
    Country: Germany
    World rankinge: No. 109



Grandmaster Magnus Carlsen

Norway, b. 30/11/1990, rating 2843 (World Champion)

Grandmaster Levon Aronian

Armenia, b. 06/10/1982, rating 2797

Grandmaster Maxime Vachier-Lagrave

France, b. 21/10/1990, rating 2793

Grandmaster Fabiano Caruana

USA, b. 30/07/1992, rating 2784

Grandmaster Viswanathan Anand

India, b. 11/12/1969, rating 2779

Grandmaster Nikita Vitiugov

Russia, b. 04/02/1987, rating 2732

Grandmaster Arkadij Naiditsch

Arkadij Naiditsch
Azerbaijan, b. 25/10/1985, rating 2705

Grandmaster Hou Yifan

China, b. 27/02/1994, rating 2654

Grandmaster Georg Meier

Germany, b. 27/08/1987, rating 2647

Grandmaster Matthias Bluebaum

Germany, b. 18/04/1997, rating 2635


Photos: Georgios Souleidis

Baden-Baden Chess Centre

Baden-Baden Chess Centre

Baden-Baden Chess Centre ("Schachzentrum Baden-Baden") can look back on a long history of top-level sport. The first international chess tournament was held here in 1870, and since then Baden-Baden has been associated with prestigious tournaments featuring such prominent players as World Champions Alekhine, Kasparov, Karpov and Anand.

Since 1996 the centre's work has focussed not only on tournaments but also on training and supporting both young talents and top players. The foundation of the Chess Academy has made it possible to implement that on an interdisciplinary scientific level. The Academy supports players at four stages, from beginners and advanced players to professional tournament players. Seminars with world-class trainers and players make it possible to deepen the knowledge already acquired.

In 2006 the German Olympic Sports Confederation designated the Baden-Baden Chess Centre as the only national training base for chess in Germany.

Another important focus of the Chess Centre is providing direct support for chess in schools. Regular tournaments prepare schoolchildren for regional, national and international competitions.


  • Grandmaster Arkadij Naiditsch, the best German chess player
  • German Team Trainer Grandmaster Uwe Bönsch, FIDE Senior Trainer
  • Grandmaster Katja Borulya, A-Trainer
  • Grandmaster Roland Schmaltz, former Bullet Chess World Champion
  • FIDE Master Christian Bossert, A-Trainer
  • International Master Helmut Reefschläger
  • Grandmaster Philipp Schlosser, A-Trainer
  • Nikolaus Sentef, B-Trainer
  • State Trainer International Master Jaroslav Srokowski, FIDE Senior Trainer
  • German Junior Trainer FIDE Master Bernd Vökler, FIDE Trainer

More information can be found on our website: www.schachzentrum-baden-baden.de

Ooser Schachgesellschaft Baden-Baden 1922 e.V.

Our chess club has over 200 members in 8 teams ranging from the Men’s and Women’s Bundesliga to the Kreisklasse II and additional junior and senior teams.

Chess players who are current members of OSG Baden-Baden and hold training sessions in the Chess Centre include:

  • Viswanathan Anand, World Champion 2000-2002 and since 2007
  • Magnus Carlsen, already a grandmaster at 14 and now No. 1 on the world rankings at 22
  • Levon Aronian, No. 3 on the world rankings
  • Etienne Bacrot, once the youngest grandmaster of all time, French No. 1
  • Arkadij Naiditsch, German No. 1
  • Julia Bochis, 2011 German U18 Champion
  • Frederick Beck, 2007 German Junior Champion
  • Andrea Srokovskiy, German U10 Championship runner-up

OSG Baden-Baden’s achievements:

  • German Team Champions: 2006 to 2014
  • German Team Cup Winners: 2003, 2005, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2012
  • German Women’s Team Champions: 2003, 2004, 2005, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2012
  • German Blitz Team Champions: 2003, 2007
  • German Junior Team Champions: 2006

More information:

Managing Director of the Baden-Baden Chess Centre: Roland Schmaltz +49 (7221) 50079623

Chairman of the Baden-Baden Chess Centre: Christian Bossert +49 (7221) 5007111

Chairman of the Ooser Schachgesellschaft Baden-Baden: Jens Thieleke +49 (7223) 958983

How to get here

Schwarzwaldhalle Karlsruhe (Round 1 to 3)

How to get there

Kulturhaus LA8 Baden-Baden (Round 4 to 9)

How to get there

Playing venue & tickets

Schwarzwaldhalle Karlsruhe (Round 1 to 3)

Festplatz 9
D - 76137 Karlsruhe

How to get there

Kulturhaus LA8 Baden-Baden (Round 4 to 9)

Lichtentaler Allee 8
D 76530 Baden-Baden

How to get there

Entry is free


Rules & regulations

The tournament will be held from 31 March-09 April, 2018. 

Venue: Schwarzwaldhallte Karlsruhe (Round 1 to 3), Kulturhaus LA8 Baden-Baden (Round 4 to 9)

Time control: 100 min/40 moves + 50 min/20 moves + 15 min/rest of the game with a 30 sec increment from move 1

Draws: No draw offers before move 40

Tiebreakers: 1. Number of wins, 2. Number of wins with Black, 3. Head-to-head score

In case of a tie for first place: 2 games with 10 min + 2 sec a move; then if needed 2 games with 5 min + 2 sec a move; finally a game with 6 min for White and 5 min for Black (in case of a draw Black wins)

Default time: 30 minutes

Tournament Directors: Christian Bossert and Sven Noppes (FIDE Arbiter)

Live commentary: Peter Leko and Jan Gustfsson